Transformers – 220V to 110V

With the arrival of my stuff from the UK, I needed to purchase some infamous transformers to ensure I could use my 22oV appliances here in 110V Brazil. I had mixed luck!

Firstly, the best article I have found giving advice on selecting a transformer is: http://international-electrical-supplies.com/transformers16.html. Basically, it explains that the size of transformer you require relates directly the wattage (W in English or VA in Portuguese) of the appliance.

So, the appliances that I needed a transformer for and their wattage were:

  • DVD Player: 8W
  • TV: 129W
  • Microwave: 800W
  • Coffee Machine: 1700W
  • Kettle: 1700W
  • Toaster: 1800W
  • Vaccum cleaner: 2100W
  • Iron: 2200W

I found that Amoedo on Rua Farme de Amoedo in Ipanema had the best range locally (bottom shelf in the lighting store) so I bought all my transformers from there.

The transformers at Amoedo were 100W, 200W, 300W, 500W, 1100W, 1500W, 2000W or 3000W and ranged in price from approx R$45 to R$450 depending on the size.

So, for my DVD Player and TV I went for the safest option as I was very nervous about ruining my TV and bought a 300W transformer. This is working perfectly, the transformer makes no noise and I feel safe having both items plugged in at the same time.

For my microwave and coffee machine, I decided to go with one transformer to cover them both but only plug each appliance is as I was using them. I must have mis-read the wattage of my coffee machine as I only bought a 1500W transformer and within a few days it blew up! Whoops! I now need to go back to the store to get a 2000W version however these are very expensive so I am considering just buying a new microwave and coffee machine.

For the kettle and toaster, I would have needed the 2000W transformer so, due to the price, I decided to just buy a new toaster and boil water on the stove!

For the vacuum cleaner and iron, I would have needed the 3000W transformer which not only is expensive but also a little more complicated to use. For the 2000W transformers and below, you simply plug one end of the transformer into the wall and then plug the appliance into the other end. The 3000W transformer actually requires some knowledge of electrics as you must actually connect to the wires from the transformer into the plug of the appliance… much too complicated for me so I decided to buy a new iron and just to sweep my floors instead!

One thought on “Transformers – 220V to 110V

Leave a comment